Home

Objectives

Partners

Coordinator

External Evaluators

Final Technical Report

Work Packages

Project - Meetings

Other Meetings

Dissemination

Breeds

Links

Heritage sheep data base

 

 

 

 

Tarasconnais   English   EFABIS Data

 

Nom international

Tarasconnais

Nom local

Tarasconnaise

Localisation

Pyrénées et Sud-Ouest

 

Nombre de brebis reproductrices

(an)

150.000

Taille de la population

En diminution

Flock-book établi en

 

 

Origine – Historique

La race est certainement originaire de la population syrienne importée pendant les premières invasions de la région. A travers les siècles, plusieurs infusions de sang étranger ont été expérimentées, notamment le Mérinos d’Afrique qui est l’ancêtre du Mérinos Espagnol et importé par les Ibériques, conquérants de l’Espagne. Il y avait un large choix de troupeaux très variés qui ont tous été améliorés pendant le 19ème siècle par croisement avec de jeunes races anglaises (Leicester, Dishley) et avec des races danoises (Frisonne). Plus récemment, des Mérinos de Rambouillet, du Soissonnais puis des Dishley-Mérinos et des Mérinos du Châtillonnais ont été utilisés. Les premières références à la race Tarasconnaise datent de la fin des années 1930.

 

Description de la race

La Tarasconnaise est une race très rustique adaptée à son environnement, aux chocs météorologiques et aux restrictions alimentaires qui sont fréquents dans les Pyrénées. Les éleveurs utilisent les qualités de la race en pratiquant la transhumance. La lutte se fait avant la montée en estive. 80% des brebis sont conduites en race pure. Cependant la période de lutte peut être étendue ce qui entraîne un agnelage de septembre à mars. Considérée comme une race de montagne, la Tarasconnaise a de bonnes aptitudes de désaisonnement et atteint un taux de fécondité de 1.23. Les brebis sont aussi capables de produire assez de lait à partir de ces conditions environnementales difficiles pour permettre un taux de croissance de l’agneau satisfaisant.
La race est blanche avec des cornes dans les deux sexes, celles des mâles sont entièrement spiralées. La laine est fine, serrée et sans jarre, les membres sont découverts. Les mâles adultes pèsent 70-80 kg et les femelles 50-60 kg
.

 

Conservation de la race

Le programme de sélection très dynamique a pour objectif d’améliorer la valeur laitière et le désaisonnement, tous deux sont des facteurs importants pour la race. Cette sélection est combinée avec le besoin de conserver la rusticité de la race tout en améliorant la croissance et la conformation. Les brebis sont sélectionnées sur la base des ces traits et les agneaux qu’elles produisents sont sélectionnés sur les critères de race et rassemblés dans un centre d’élevage. La semence des meilleurs béliers sera ensuite utilisée en insémination artificielle sur la race, afin d’améliorer ces traits.

 

Contact:  U.P.R.A. des Races Ovines des Pyrénées Centrales

                 28 rue des Pyrenees  31 210 MONTREJEAU

                 TEL. 05 61 95 68 44
 

Action Heritage Sheep AGRI GEN RES 040 receives financial support from the European Commission, Genetic Resources in Agriculture, under European Commission Council Regulation (EC) No 870/2004 AGRI GEN RES 2006 HERITAGE SHEEP

Home

Objectives

Partners

Coordinator

External Evaluators

Final Technical Report

Work Packages

Project - Meetings

Other Meetings

Dissemination

Breeds

Links

Heritage sheep data base

 

 

 

 

Tarasconnais   French   EFABIS Data

 

International Name

Tarasconnais

Local Name

Tarasconnais

Location

Pyrenees and Sud-Ouest

Breeding females

(year)

150.000

Trend of population size

Decreasing

Flock book established

 

 

Origin history

The breed probably originates from a Syrian population that was imported during early invasions of the region. Over the centuries it has experienced many infusions of foreign blood, notably the African Merino, the forefather of the Spanish Merino, which was imported by the Iberians, conquerors of Spain. There was a wide range of very diverse flocks that were all improved over the course of the 19th Century, to varying degrees, by breeding with early English breeds (Leicester, Dishley) and Danish breeds (Friesians). More recently Rambouillets, Soissonais and lastly Dishley Merinos and Chatillonnais Merinos have been used. The sheep that gave rise to the Tarasconnais seem to have undergone more limited cross-breeding. The first references to the Tarasconnais breed date from the late 1930s.

 

 Breed description

The Taraconnais is extremely hardy being adapted to the landscape, meteorological changes and variations in fodder that are inherent in the PyrEnEes. The breeders make the best of these conditions by practising transhumance. Mating usually takes place before the ascent to the summer grazing with 80% of the ewes being pure-bred. However this mating can become extended which leads to a lambing period from September to March. Given that it is a mountain breed, the Tarasconnais is well adapted to out of season breeding, achieving a fecundity rate of 1.23 per ewe. The ewes are also able to produce enough milk from these environmental conditions to provide a satisfactory lamb growth rate.
The Tarasconnais is a white sheep with horns on both sexes, the males being entirely spiralled. They have weak fleece coverage, with the legs free from fleece. The mature rams weigh 70-80kg, and the ewes weigh 50-60kg.

 

Conservation activities

There is an active selection programme aimed at enhancing the characteristics of the milk yield and the ability to breed out of season, both important factors for this breed. Work is combined with the need to ensure the hardiness of the breed whilst improving growth and conformation. Ewes are selected based on these important traits and ram lambs produced from these ewes are selected on breed phenotype and taken to a breeding centre. Semen from the best rams will be used for artificial insemination in the breed, therefore advancing these important traits.

 

Contact:  U.P.R.A. des Races Ovines des Pyrénées Centrales

                 28 rue des Pyrenees  31 210 MONTREJEAU

                 TEL. 05 61 95 68 44
 

Action Heritage Sheep AGRI GEN RES 040 receives financial support from the European Commission, Genetic Resources in Agriculture, under European Commission Council Regulation (EC) No 870/2004 AGRI GEN RES 2006 HERITAGE SHEEP