Home

Objectives

Partners

Coordinator

External Evaluators

Final Technical Report

Work Packages

Project - Meetings

Other Meetings

Dissemination

Breeds

Links

Heritage sheep data base

 

 

 

 

Mérinos d’Arles   English   EFABIS Data

 

Nom international

Arles Merino

Nom local

Mérinos d’Arles

Localisation

Alpes et Corse

 

Nombre de brebis reproductrices

(an)

283.000

Taille de la population

En augmentation

Flock-book établi en

 

 

Origine - Historique

Après l’introduction du Mérinos d’Espagne, diffusé à partir des anciennes bergeries impériales de Perpignan et d’Arles au 18ème siècle, des croisements systématiques (environ 10% par an), à partir de 1920 et jusqu’en 1940, ont été réalisés avec le Mérinos du Châtillonais (Mérinos Précoce) pour améliorer la production et la finesse de laine. D’autres apports (1-3%) à partir de l’Est à Laine Mérinos et du Boorola (Australie) ont été introduits depuis les 30 dernières années. La race a été massivement exportée en Afrique du Nord, Espagne et Europe de l’Est. Quelques animaux ont été exportés en Asie. 75% des brebis sont conduites en race pure.

 

Description de la race

L’élevage de la race Mérinos d’Arles associe zone de plaine (la Crau) en hiver et zone de montagne en été par le biais de la transhumance. L’hiver, les brebis quittent la bergerie tous les jours. La transhumance fait aussi intervenir des zones de moyennes montagnes faisant la transition entre les deux saisons. La lutte se fait principalement avant que les animaux commencent leur ascension vers les alpages. Cependant quand les animaux quittent les montagnes, les béliers sont remis dans les troupeaux afin d’effectuer la ‘repasse’ sur les brebis vides et les agnelles dans certain cas. D’autres systèmes d’élevage sont utilisés dans lesquels les mises bas sont plus fréquentes (grâce à des luttes tardives en automne), les brebis peuvent alors atteindre un taux de fécondité de 1.2. Les agneaux sont vendus à des âges différents, aussi bien en tant qu’agneau de lait (dans des exploitations très localisées) que comme agneau lourd. Les plus tardifs vont souvent au pâturage et sont vendus à leur retour. Un grand nombre de systèmes intermédiaires existent aussi.
Les animaux sont blancs, en général seul le mâle porte des cornes enroulées en spirales. Des petites cornes peuvent cependant apparaître chez les deux sexes. La toison est étendue, les membres sont découverts. Les mâles adultes pèsent 70-90kg et les femelles 40-60 kg
.

 

Conservation de la race

Plusieurs produits sont issus de ce système d’élevage et la bonne qualité de laine ne compte que pour une petite partie dans les revenus. Les principaux objectifs de sélection pour la race Mérinos d’Arles portent sur la valeur laitière des brebis et la croissance des agneaux. Les béliers utilisés en insémination artificielle sont sélectionnés dans le but de préserver la finesse de leur laine mais aussi de maintenir l’aptitude au désaisonnement, une qualité très prisée.

 

Contact: UPRA Merinos d'Arles 64, bd Louis Pasquet 13 300 Salon de Provence
 

Action Heritage Sheep AGRI GEN RES 040 receives financial support from the European Commission, Genetic Resources in Agriculture, under European Commission Council Regulation (EC) No 870/2004 AGRI GEN RES 2006 HERITAGE SHEEP

Home

Objectives

Partners

Coordinator

External Evaluators

Final Technical Report

Work Packages

Project - Meetings

Other Meetings

Dissemination

Breeds

Links

Heritage sheep data base

 

 

 

 

Arles Merino   French   EFABIS Data

 

International Name

Arles Merino

Local Name

Merinos d’Arles

Location

Alpes and Corse

Breeding females

(year)

283.000

Trend of population size

Increasing

Flock book established

 

 

Origin – history

After an introduction of Spanish Merino, based in the old imperial sheepfolds of Perpignan and Arles, in the 18th Century, systematic crossings (about 10% per annum) during the 1920s and continuing until the beginning of the 1940s were performed with Mérinos du Chatillonnais (Merinos Précoce), to improve the wool production and formation. There have been other small inputs (1-3%) from Est a Laine Merinos and Boorola (Australian) in the last thirty years. The breed has also been exported to Spain, eastern Europe and north Africa on a large scale, and some animals have been exported to Asia. The breed now keeps 75% of its ewes as pure-bred.

 

Breed description

The Arles Merino breed is raised using transhumance, alternating the summer mountain pastures with pastures on the plains (La Crau area) in winter, where the animals are put out to pasture every day. Transhumance may also incorporate a semi-mountainous area allowing for a transition between the two locations. Mating principally takes place before the animals make the ascent to high mountain pastures. However, rams perform “return” mating when the animals come down from the mountains. There are also variations to this procedure, involving more frequent lambing (through further mating in the autumn), ewes achieving a fecundity rate of 1.2. The lambs are sold at various ages, either as suckler-lambs (very localised farming) or as fattening lambs. The latter are often taken to high mountain pastures and then sold on their return. A whole range of intermediate systems also exists.
The sheep are white, usually only the males having horns, which are rolled and spiralled, although small horns may be present on either sex. They have good fleece coverage, with the legs free from fleece. The mature rams weigh 70-90kg, and the ewes weigh 40-60kg.


Conservation activities

Various products are derived from these farming systems, and the high-quality wool only accounts for a small proportion of the economic income. The principal selection objectives for the Arles Mérino breed are the milk value of the ewes and the growth of the lambs. Rams for artificial insemination are chosen in order to preserve the fineness of the wool, as well as maintaining the out of season breeding capacity, a much-prized quality.

 

Contact: UPRA Merinos d'Arles 64, bd Louis Pasquet 13 300 Salon de Provence
 

Action Heritage Sheep AGRI GEN RES 040 receives financial support from the European Commission, Genetic Resources in Agriculture, under European Commission Council Regulation (EC) No 870/2004 AGRI GEN RES 2006 HERITAGE SHEEP